The Society awards Honorary membership to outstanding people of 'distinguished reputation or learning'. This is determined under one of the following three criteria:

  • Distinguished foreign numismatists who have made a contribution to British numismatics
  • Distinguished British or foreign scholars whose primary interests lay in other fields who have made a contribution to British numismatics
  • Life-time awards to be made exceptionally to individuals whose all-round contribution and service to British Numismatics has gone well beyond that deemed appropriate for the award of the Sanford Saltus or Jeffrey North Medals


The Society's current Honorary Members are:

  • Dr David Dykes
  • Peter Mitchell
  • Prof Simon Keynes
  • Prof Martin Biddle
  • Dr Jorgen Steen Jensen
  • Dr Tuukka Talvio
  • Prof Kenneth Jonsson
  • Prof James Graham-Campbell
  • Graham Dyer
  • Hugh Pagan
  • Dr Veronica Smart
  • Mr Marvin Lessen


Cantiaci Potin, angular bull type, c. 75-55 BC, found near Box Hill in Surrey.  Images courtesy of the finder, Mrs Frances Fancourt.