The Society awards prizes in recognition of outstanding contributions to British Numismatics. The Society's prizes are outlined below and the specific regulations for each can be found on the regulations page.

Blunt Prize

This prize is named after Christopher Evelyn Blunt (1904-1987) and takes the form of a triennial cash award to an individual, whether a member of the Society or not, who has made a significant recent contribution to the study of numismatics which falls within the Society's remit. Its purpose is principally to encourage younger scholars, and preference is therefore given to suitable candidates under 35 years of age.

North Book Prize

The prize is named after Jeffrey North and is awarded every two years for the best book on British Numismatics. Books eligible for consideration for the prize are those published during the current or three preceding calendar years, copies of which have been received by the joint library of the British Numismatic Society and the Royal Numismatic Society for review. The recipient receives a cash prize, currently of £500.



Previous Recipients

Previous recipients of the above prizes are as follows:


Blunt Prize  

1987 M. A. S. Blackburn
1990 E. M. Besly
1993 B. J. Cook
1996 M. R. Allen
1999 P de Jersey
2002 K. Clancy
2005 S. Bhandare
2008 T. Crafter
2011 R. Naismith
2014 R. Kelleher and P. Walton
2017 A. Woods

2020 M. Andrews



North Book Prize


2006  M Allen for The Durham Mint

2008  R Eaglen for The Abbey and Mint of Bury St Edmunds to 1279

2010  Lord Stewartby for English Coins 1180-1551

2012  D. Dykes for Coinage and Currency in Eighteenth-Century Britain: the Provincial Coinage

2014  M. Allen for Mints and Money in Medieval England

2016  P. de Jersey for Coin Hoards in Iron Age Britain

2018  R. Naismith for Medieval European Coinage: Volume 8, Britain and Ireland C.400-1066

2020  J. Sills for Divided Kingdoms: The Iron Age Gold Coinage of Southern England 









Charles I shilling, type D2/2 - for discussion see the BNS Research Blog Article by David Holt: Confirmation of a Previously Noted Variety of a Charles 1 Tower Shilling.